The diversity of my path

The ten years I’ve been practicing and studying have lead me to many interesting topics that have resonated  on a soul level with me.   My path has grown to incorporate some of the practices from Afican based religions, models of Helenic practice, and reconstructions of the ancient Celts.

I suppose since I know nothing of my ancestry other than at least one part of my family came to America as slaves, I had been, searching for my path, but never found it. I thought in my ignorance of what paganism is, that it would be found in Wicca, but that religion held no appeal to me, other than its helping me to transition my thinking away from my Christian upbringing, as well as having a general structure that help me understand concepts that I have since seen reflected in other practices. This is not to say I think poorly of Wicca, as I do have some practices in Wicca that I still see useful in my physical representation of spirituality thought;its just that it wasn’t for me.

I’ve determined that my spirituality is characterized by appreciation of the earth. I attempt to understand it and respect it in ways similar to the ways our ancestors would have as they lived off of the earth, it whatever way I can find applicable in our modern times.

I endeavor to respect and understand all religions, especially those whose practice, or part of its practice, reasonate with me, by studying it.

Perhaps this is why Celtic paganism has connected with me on such a deep level. Celtic culture has been of interest to me since I was a young child. Celtic paganism itself was a concept I stumbled upon in year one of my studies.

Its been sixteen years since I recognized I beliefs were different from my family. -Its still amazes me that I understood the power and draw of nature that young and remember it vividly.- Eleven years since I discovered what that meant. Five years since I truly accepted that it was ok to be different and be myself without letting fear guide me.

This journey has been beautiful.

Leave a Reply

