I am an eclectic.

I don’t follow religion. I believe in doing whatever you need to find your spirituality and connection with the universe.

Some people find it in religion; some find the dogma to rigid and stifling.

(Please remember the definition of dogma.
1. a system of principles or
tenets, as of a church.
2. a specific tenet or doctrine
authoritatively put forth, as by a
church.
3. prescribed doctrine: political
dogma.
4. an established belief or
principle.
This still happens in paganism)

Some of us are freer spirits, still.

I do what I feel guided to do and often what I’m drawn to transcends many different religions. I seek to understand and I’m still a long way off. I don’t go with things just because that’s how it is or has been, definitely not because it’s the norm.

I am an eclectic pagan.

Eclectic
noun
:one who uses a method or approach that is composed of elements drawn from various sources :one who uses an eclectic method or approach

adjective
: including things taken from many different sources
Full Definition
1 :selecting what appears to be best in various doctrines, methods, or styles
2 :composed of elements drawn from various sources; also :heterogeneous

As I’m drawn to things I study them to find how they fit – why they resonate with me. If you’ve followed my blogs or have known me for a while, you’ll note that things have changed over time. Things often change except my very core values as I find my deeper truths.

I come to my own understandings about the world and spirituality. Then I compare them to what science and such tell us. For the most part, my beliefs usually overlap with science.

Sometimes, it takes me longer to do research and gain understanding than I would like. That is usually when I don’t claim something as a belief but rather an interesting concept.

It’s just who I am. I question everything.  As a submissive in a D/s relationship, that can get you in trouble sometimes lol. I just have this inane need to understand things.

~~~~
This post was inspired by my reflections over one of the Pagan Musing Podcast shows. I love them. I don’t always agree, but I enjoy most shows.

http://www.blogtalkradio.com/pagan-musings/2010/05/08/the-eight-pillars-of-greek-wisdom-and-how-they-app

Leave a Reply

