Eclectic Celtic pagan/Nordic Yule with a little bit of wicca thrown in.

Ok so I haven’t blogged in a while. I’ve been incredibly busy. I had finals and we decided to move right before Yule and do a holiday party as well on time. Yay! for me being crazy. But aside from the killer headache of moving and trying to organize everything I managed to plan a successful Yule celebration that was a mix of the three of us. Triple Yay!

Our paths

Hubby has embarked on the Nordic path of paganism, which I know little about, but as his mentor I have had to do some crash course learning. Not much just educating myself of how the Nordic path celebrates its Sabbaths and such. For his path we are following the 12 days of Yuletide; I normally just do Yule.

I am an Eclectic Celtic pagan as everyone knows by reading the blog.

And our partner classifies as Wiccan.

So I’ll give a little walk through of our celebration. It was really informal with 10 people, including my fiance and I as the hosts.

the tree

The Tree

DECOR

Tree

Fire (Yule log)

Altar

Table

Menu

Planned

View of the buffet

View of the buffet

Appetizers- fruit and cheese tray with wine /sparkling cider,  grape juice and veggie quiche

Main course- baked chicken,  fruit and nut stuffing with rosemary

Second view of the buffet

Second view of the buffet

potatoes, candied carrots, rolls, steamed broccoli, Cranberry sauce

Desert- chocolate yule or gingerbread  log

Drink- coffee, wine, chocolate, tea, mead, hard cider.

Actual

Appetizers- fruit and cheese tray with wine /sparkling cider and  grape juice

Main course- baked chicken,  fruit and nut stuffing with rosemary potatoes, candied carrots, rolls, steamed broccoli and raw carrots

Desert- chocolate yule or gingerbread  log

Drink- coffee, wine, chocolate, tea,egg nog, hard cider + more adult beverages.

Ritual

Tools:

-Altar Cloth
-A Cauldron w/Lid
-Holly Sprig
-1 Gold God candle
-1 White or  Silver Goddess candle

The Yule log is in the fire place curtesy of our partner and her friends

The Yule log is in the fire place courtesy of our partner and her friends

1505072_10151867428922183_14568993_n

The Altar

***Our God and Goddess candles broke during the move so we used our binding candles

-1 Green , 1 White , 1 Red
-Sandalwood
***My fav incense for all rituals
– Athame
-Apple
-Wine
-Altar tile
-4 white candles

–  Offering plate with cake

First I lit the incense. I silently called the elements to form a circle around us. I set the altar tile in the middle of the altar and put a small white candle at each corner. I put the red, green and white candle in the middle and lit the  all 7 of them.  In the cauldron I set my spell for Yule. I choose a purification spell.

“Awaken, my Lady, look upon Thyne Divine Child, His rebirth while You slumbered Was subtle and silent. The Stag King, the Green Man, Lord of Fertility, He awaits Thy wakening Gentle and benevolent”

Light the Goddess candle.


“All hail the Oak King, His rebirth; a promise All hail the Divine Child, Giver of Life All hail the Blessed Sun, reborn to the Mother For he retakes His throne at the end of Solstice Night!”

Light the God candle and put out the Goddess candle.

Do  spell work then meditation. Next celebrate with the apple and wine, passing it around the circle.  (We would have used cake but not everyone liked the ginger cake and that was what was left) Thank and release the elements:


“Carry sweet tidings, ’round the world and beyond, I charge thee as messengers Earth, Water, Fire, and Air Let all rejoice loudly in the Oak King’s return Teach all that you meet, with the glad tidings you bear.”

Put out all the candles except the good candle.


“Before my circle, tonight, I close Blessings I ask for this house and my kin Tomorrow at daybreak, when I arise A special flame I will carry, within… And a gold candle upon my altar I’ll light Adding my will to the Sun King’s intent To climb aloft in the vaulted skies And for strength back to me; three times, strength I’ve sent.”


Like I said everything was really informal, since half the guest weren’t pagan or were pagan curious. We also didn’t honor particular deities bc everyone has different patrons and matrons but noted this during meditation.

Ritual adapted from: http://wicca.com/celtic/akasha/yulerit.htm

This site is great for last minute help or beginning knowledge.

Welcoming Non-Pagans to Your Pagan Celebration

Tips for Attending a Pagan Ritual

Leave a Reply

